Another year, another award season! We’re excited to announce the 2017 TBM Award nominations are open for business. Does your IT leader or team have an amazing or transformational story? It only takes five minutes to submit your nomination to the TBM council.

 Act fast, submissions close April 21st, 2017.

What are the TBM Awards?

 Every year, IT departments tackle some of the toughest business challenges. The ever-evolving role of IT has brought rise to the rapid development of industry best practices. Technology leaders across the world have leveraged the TBM discipline to solve business problems and are now running IT like a business.

 In honor of those visionary leaders, the TBM awards are designed to recognize the profound impact they have on their organization and the industry – from driving operational excellence and business innovation, to complete business transformations. TBM best practices empower IT leaders to deliver amazing results each and every year.

The 2017 Award Categories

As the awards were established to recognize excellence across the industry, the TBM Council developed five distinct categories:

Business Innovation Award 

The selection committee is looking for an organization that is changing the conversation with line-of-business stakeholders, the C-suite, and even the board of directors. Can you show how your team has shifted budget from maintenance costs to innovation?

Last year’s winner was Royal Bank of Scotland. Read their full story or watch the video.

IT Optimization Award

Finalists will provide tangible examples of how they are saving money on IT spending and/or are getting more value per dollar invested.

Last year’s winner was HP Enterprises. Read their full story or watch the video.

IT Financial Leadership Award (formerly CFO of IT Leadership)

Finalists have changed the role of IT finance at their organization. They are no longer looked at as merely a controller/accounting function. They are seen as drivers of decision-making power to IT, finance and business stakeholders.

Last year’s winner was Kim Manigault, of KeyBank. Read the full story or watch the video.

IT Services Transformation Award 

The selection committee is looking for leaders who can demonstrate how their team is shifting IT from being an expense center to delivering services with greater flexibility, transparency of cost, consumption and quality.

Last year’s winner was FedEx. Read their full story or watch the video

Strategy and Planning Excellence Award

Finalists have embraced dynamic planning. They have shifted from a static, cost center-based IT planning process to one that regularly links IT resources to business strategy, business demand for services and innovation and IT-led initiatives.

Last year’s winner was CHRISTUS Health. Read their full story or watch the video

TBM Pacesetter Award (formerly CIO Business Leadership)

Finalists can demonstrate how their organization has made significant progress in transparency, data quality, decision making and business results in less than 18 months with TBM.

Last year’s winner was ExxonMobil. Read their full story or watch the video.


The Selection Committee

 The 2017 finalists will be highlighted during the fifth annual TBM Council Award Gala, Tuesday, November 7. In order to thoroughly evaluate the stories for each and every nomination, the TBM Council has asked past finalists to participate in this year’s selection committee.

  • Jason Byrd, CIO Advisory, KPMG
  • Dawn Damico, VP for O&T Shared Services, Fannie Mae
  • Kate Grasman, Director of IT Enablement, The Clorox Company
  • Lee Hawley, GVP, IT TBM, SunTrust Bank
  • Dione Hedgpeth, SVP, Customer Success, Apptio
  • Martha Heller, CEO, Heller Search Associates
  • James LaPlaine, CIO, AOL
  • Kim Manigault, EVP – CFO, Technology & Operations, KeyBank
  • Tom Murphy, University CIO & VP, IT University of Pennsylvania
  • Chuck Niethold, Sr. Director, TBMO First American
  • Ed Smith, CTO, Cox Automotive
  • Todd Tucker, VP, Standards, Research & Education, TBM Council
  • George Westerman, Research Scientist, MIT Sloan


Each year, we are blown away by the level of innovation and creativity council members demonstrate through their application of the TBM discipline. Seize the opportunity and nominate an IT leader to be recognized among industry peers.

Have questions about the TBM awards or the 2017 TBM Conference? For more information please visit the TBM Council’s award page.