Zak Cherif - September 12, 2018

2018 TBM awards program recognizes achievement and innovation in IT


Each year, the Technology Business Management (TBM) Conference hosts more than 1,500 IT finance leaders, recognizing achievements using TBM and providing exceptional education through hands-on workshops, thought-provoking public speakers, and peer networking opportunities.

In partnership with the event’s organizer, the TBM Council, Emerge is hosting success stories from the 2018 TBM awards finalists. Here you’ll find a distinguished group of TBM strategists and practitioners divided between mature (long-term) TBM users and “pacesetters” who have implemented TBM practices within the last 18 months.

The finalists were chosen based on submissions made to the TBM Council, in which nominees self-selected into award categories and provided an in-depth review of TBM successes within their respective businesses. Each submission is backed by a team of dedicated IT professionals who sponsor and utilize the TBM framework to plan, optimize, innovate, and align with the business.

TBM award winners are selected by an independent panel of CIO judges and will be announced during this year’s conference in Las Vegas on November 5, 2018.

And the nominees in the following categories are…

IT Optimization

The IT Optimization Award recognizes businesses using TBM to measurably increase their business value per dollar invested in IT. Finalists in this category have demonstrated success by optimizing their IT spend for performance and aligning that with their IT portfolio. Two winners will be recognized.


  • Morgan Stanley
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center


  • Fidelity International 
  • Ferguson Enterprises 

Strategy & Planning

This Strategy & Planning Award recognizes businesses shifting from static IT planning to a dynamic process. Finalists in this category have worked to transform their previous cost center-based process to a plan that directly links IT resources to business strategy and IT-led initiatives. Two winners will be recognized.


  • Asurion
  • Blue Shield of California


  • CoBank 
  • Red Hat 
  • Tokio Marine North American Services 

Business Alignment

The Business Alignment award recognizes organizations who have successfully applied TBM practices to increase transparency of cost, consumption and quality. Finalists in this category have transitioned IT from being an expense center to delivering services with greater flexibility. Three winners will be recognized.

Finalists (Below $1 billion in IT spend)

  • Maritz
  • Newport News Shipbuilding

Finalists (Over $1 billion in IT spend)

  • Deutsche Bank
  • Unilever


  • Great-West Life Assurance Company
  • Macquarie

Innovator of the Year

The Innovator of the Year award recognizes the achievements of companies who have taken TBM to a whole new level, moving beyond implementation to directly drive transformation. Finalists in this category have adapted their TBM strategy to changing industry needs and continue to exemplify the power of TBM to better manage the business of IT. Only one winner will be recognized.


  • Mastercard
  • Sysco

New! The TBM Community Award

A new addition this year, the TBM Community Award is open to all finalists, regardless of TBM maturity. This award will be determined by popular vote at the 2018 TBM Conference in Las Vegas.

On behalf of the editorial team here at Emerge, congratulations to all the finalists this year! Check back on November 6 to see who will take home this year’s awards.

»Get a front row seat! Register here for TBMC 2018.


Our site uses cookies. By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing to our cookie policy.

Accept & Close